Louis Gottschalk Prize - Deadline - 15 November 2021

The Louis Gottschalk Prize recognizes an outstanding historical or
critical study on the eighteenth century and carries an award of
$1,000. Louis Gottschalk (1899-1975) was the second President of
ASECS, a President of the American Historical Association, and for
many years Distinguished Service Professor at the University of
Chicago; his scholarship exemplified the humanistic ideals that this
award is meant to encourage.


  • Scholarly books—including commentaries, critical studies,

biographies, collections of essays by a single author, and critical
editions—written in any modern language are eligible. Books that are
primarily translations or multi-authored collections of essays are not

  • To be eligible for this year's competition, a book must have a copyright date between 1 November 2020 and 31 October 2021.

  • The author must be a member of the Society at the time of submission. 

  • Normally, submissions for the Gottschalk prize are in English. Works written in languages other than English are permitted, but it may not be possible for the prize committee to assess these works. Please contact the Business Office for further information.


  • Submission must be made by the publisher and SIX (6) copies must 
    be received at the ASECS Business Office by 15 November 2021.

Send all submissions to:

Louis Gottschalk Prize


*Please contact asecsoffice@gmail.com for information on where to mail Gottschalk books as our USPS address will be changing on 30 June 2021.

Return to Awards Home